My Gray Stripes

Becoming whole through family life. Desserts help.

Stick a candle in it

birthday candleThree layer red velvet cake with sumptuous cream cheese frosting.  That’s what my daughter is creating for  her brother’s fourteenth birthday as I write.  Decorate the house with balloons and colored streamers.  Bring together loved ones with wrapped and ribboned gifts.  Dim the house lights.  Light the candles on the cake.  Sing Happy Birthday. The copyrighted version. Rebels. Make a wish.  Blow out the candles.

Being originally from Pennsylvania, I have fond wintry memories of my December birthday.  When our daughter, and first child, was a baby we lived in snow-less California.  One December, my husband made arrangements for us all to drive to the snow for a visit. An ambitious and thoughtful gift considering our modest resources and our baby’s lack of enthusiasm for travel.

We arrived safely at our white vacation spot and ate our packed dinner in the hotel room.  We were exhausted.  I waited.  We cleaned up dinner.  I waited.  We readied for bed.  I waited.  Finally, like a hurt little kid, I asked, “Where’s my birthday cake?”  My dear husband fell speechless. In the midst of being a young family on the road with our first baby, there was no birthday cake.

I had a preconceived idea of what comprised a birthday celebration.  Re-read the first paragraph.  Over-reacting and terribly ungrateful, regretfully I blurted out, “I just want something with a candle stuck in it!”  Since then we’ve found all sorts of fun foods capable of being the foundation for wish blown flames.  We travel with candles.

Many times in life we can’t have it all or we don’t need it all.  But it helps to know what is most important, unique, loving, and fulfilling in any given situation.  Whether a candle is stuck in a store-bought cupcake, a cannoli, or an IT’S-IT, I discovered a candle flickering to the sweetly off-key singing of loved ones uniquely satisfies the soul.

Gray Stripe Earned:  I don’t need it all.  A candle will suffice.

4 comments on “Stick a candle in it

  1. Andrew Malcolm Stevenson
    February 12, 2013

    An enchanting post Angie. What ever the ‘cake’, it’s always better with a candle, just as you say. Being a baker by trade (a long time ago – gave up due to asthma and dermatitis) I used to make our two son’s birthday cakes; all sorts of shapes, trains to transformers ! Needless to say, their parties went well.
    Joy and Love to you,
    Andrew.

    • angiemc6
      February 12, 2013

      So glad to meet you, Andrew! I enjoyed visiting your blog, too 🙂

      While I love to bake, I envy those who can make fancy cakes. Good for you! My kids received pretty standard sheet cakes from me. Maybe that’s why my daughter started baking her own at around age 10!

      Have a great week!

  2. KDS (@Kds946)
    February 18, 2013

    Great page Angie. Everything looks so good! Just makes me want to eat. I’ve been looking for a good bread pudding recipe, hmmmmmm?

    • angiemc6
      February 18, 2013

      Thanks, Karen! You know I like my treats 🙂 I have a good bread pudding recipe somewhere. I’ll make a note to find it. Mine isn’t luscious. It’s practical comfort food that uses old bread. Remind me if I drop this ball, OK? Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2013 by in Feast & Famine and tagged , .
