My Gray Stripes

Becoming whole through family life. Desserts help.

Happily married

Ray hurled curses and Tommy threw punches at me one too many times. Teaching emotionally disturbed children combined with their physical aggression brought me to my knees. My classroom partner quit in despair and I needed help fast. Handing the supervisor my two week notice I added, “Karen, if I don’t get the next strong male body who walks in the door, I’m leaving.” Proving my good fortune, the person hired was tall, dark, and handsome, and going to graduate school! And the man for me.

We recently celebrated twenty-five years of marriage. Upon hearing this news, reactions range from “ho hum” to “are you crazy” to “that’s great.” I laugh because all are applicable. Some ask me about our secret to a long marriage. It’s hard to say. My happy marriage is…

…a good meal, a paying job, and having babies plus a roof over our heads. It is within the reach of the most common. Wake up each day, give it my best shot, go to sleep, repeat. It is doable because marriage is simply miraculous.

Fred and Ginger, Abbott and Costello, and Venus and Serena. It takes two, each willing to do whatever it takes to dance, laugh, and win.

…being stalked by Snow White’s Evil Queen, Peter Pan’s Captain Hook, and Aladdin’s Jafar. Loss, pain, and suffering are inevitable and defeat-able.

…a Tough Mudder race, military boot camp, or giving birth. It’s hard, messy, and risky. It breaks me down to my weakness in order to show me my true strength.

…an awarding winning movie, World Series championship, or Usain Bolt record breaking 100 meters. On the surface, each appears to have been achieved almost effortlessly, yet excellence takes a high level of passion, commitment, skill, determination, work, and sacrifice.

…Christmas morning, a St. Patrick’s Day party, and a vacation at the beach. It is fun, funny, and full of extraordinary good cheer.

…red roses, bubbly champagne, and a beautiful diamond ring. It glitters, sparkles, and is passionate. It touches the heart in a most promise-kept, private and romantic way.

…growing a beautiful garden, a meaningful career, or a child into a contributing adult. It takes time. Start growing love as soon as possible, stick with it, and time will take care of most the rest.

Somehow love conformed and transformed two young, rough-around-the-edges, and strong-willed people into a happy…one.

Gray Stripe Earned: A happy marriage is a mystery.

9 comments on “Happily married

  1. Harleena Singh (@harleenas)
    October 13, 2012

    Congratulations Angie!

    Twenty five years is a great achievement in times like these….wonderful indeed. Wishing you many more years of togetherness…:)

    • angiemc6
      October 13, 2012

      Thank you very much, Harleena, for your comment, encouragement, and for writing passionately and practically about the value of family!

  2. Celeste
    October 17, 2012

    Lovely post, Angie! My husband and I are blessed to have parents both married 30+ years, and their example has been such an inspiration to us. I love reading the happy-marriage stories like yours. Thank you for sharing it! And I think I already said it on the forums, but happy anniversary to you and your tall-dark-and-handsome hubby. 🙂

    • angiemc6
      October 17, 2012

      And I love hearing happy stories like your family’s, Celeste 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind words.

  3. mamaslearning - Lara
    October 17, 2012

    Love it! Congratulations! We’ve been married 18 years and I just can’t imagine NOT being together forever. We started out as best friends and have stayed friends throughout this wonderfully tumultuous years of ups, downs, sideways, and everything in between. Not all rosy, but respect and communication keep us on track! Thank you for showing us how it’s done.

    • angiemc6
      October 18, 2012

      Thanks a ton, Lara. I’m grateful to those who have shown us good examples too, Lara 🙂 Dave is truly my best friend, too. Mutual respect and honestly trying to communicate (hard work!) are two keys. Not all rosy is true. The farther I get into my marriage, the more I’m able to see that everything has a purpose. The less than rosy times definitely force us to stretch, trust, and soften our hearts ❤

  4. Mary
    October 18, 2012

    Beautiful, Angie!

    • angiemc6
      October 22, 2012

      Appreciate it, Mary 🙂 Have a great week!

  5. Pingback: 136 ways to love others | My Gray Stripes

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2012 by in Love & Fear and tagged , , , , .
