My Gray Stripes

Becoming whole through family life. Desserts help.

Welcome to changing the world one happy family at a time

Have you ever thrown your hands up into the air and screamed, “What is going on here?”

I have.

In fact, I asked it this morning after I thought I had asked my kids a simple question. The next thing I knew the conversation had unraveled into the kids competing for the best joke. At first I enjoyed the ride, laughing along, but then I realized no answer to my question was coming. And then I realized my poor old brain had completely forgotten the question. As of now, I still don’t remember the question. Like Kari the babysitter in the movie, The Incredibles, I wish my parents played Mozart when I slept because half the time I don’t even know what the heck anyone’s talking about!

With a two-job-working husband, three baseball playing sons at home, a journalist daughter at college, a rescued dog named Freedom, and an ornery fat cat named Leon, I know confusion. From piles of laundry to double digit relocations, sleepless baby nights to disaster deployments, grueling teen schedules to crushing debt, we’ve faced so much. Like I know you have.

This blog is for anyone who is frustrated and wants to be reassured.

By nature, I like order and solving problems. Nothing makes me happier than drawing up a plan for the day and following it to the T. But I also don’t like being confined, conforming, or following blindly. I’m just as likely to ditch a plan as I am to make one.

This blog is for anyone who holds conflicting traits and wants to find peace.

While I drown in details, I thrive on the big picture. There I find principles to live by, stories to stir my imagination, music to sooth, and ideas to fuel my passion for life. In the big picture I find priorities to help order my time, choose wisely, and avoid buying into unrealistic expectations.

This blog is for anyone who is eager to cut through the mud.

My family and I are at our best when we enjoy each other’s company in simple ways, invite good and quirky people into our lives, and hold each other accountable for reaching our goals. Personally, I’m at my best when I’m making a meal for a crowd, clapping and whistling loudly at a baseball game, helping someone in their time of need, or laughing out loud.

This blog is for anyone who wants to be my guest and feel at home.

I wish I could serve you a hot coffee, a sweet lemonade, or a cold beer. Thankfully we can meet online and I can share my experience with the hope of sparing you some grief, or at least make you smile. And I won’t presume to tell anyone what to do or who to be. Hope you find that a relief. I want and promise to pray for your ultimate peace and happiness.

This blog is for anyone who wants to be treated with respect and kindness.

Life is full of chaos, a mishmash of suffering and happiness. You are not alone. God loves us and we can love each other as neighbors. Each of us has something special and vitally important to share. That, thanks goodness, is clear.

Sincerely,

Angie Mc

PS…. This sticky post is a reminder, like the wreath on my door, that you are always welcome.

17 comments on “Welcome to changing the world one happy family at a time

  1. Caroline Haydu
    July 17, 2012

    Angie, I’m looking forward to reading your blog. It is a challenge and a blessing to be able to share your wisdom with other women. Thank you.

  2. angiemc6
    July 17, 2012

    ~~Waving, Caroline~~ Thanks for your encouragement and for being the first to comment on my blog! That calls for a song, “3 cheers for Caroline, for Caroline, for Caroline, the best of them all” I will gladly accept the gift of Wisdom whenever it is offered to me:) If you have a chance, tell me more about how you’re changing the world these days:)

  3. Jennifer
    July 17, 2012

    Angie, I love your new blog! I am so getting the Kari connection! LOL Sometime I feel like I need to sit down with a fire extinguisher (dazed) and put out fire after fire. (: Respect is our family goal these days. We have faulted at consistancy and know it. I look forward to readig your many thoughts. God bless!

  4. angiemc6
    July 17, 2012

    Hey, Jennifer, I’m so glad you like it! Devin helped with format and pics, Ian helped with pics, too. Fortunate me!

    Consistency is difficult. I think of the Stephen Covey (God rest his soul) metaphor of being an airplane pilot flying from one point to the next. The plane is never exactly where it is supposed to be on course, constantly in need of adjustments, yet manages to get to its destination. Just keep your eyes on the destination, keep adjusting, and enjoy your home full of littles:) You’re a great family!

  5. stef
    July 20, 2012

    hi Angie! your new blog looks fabulous! looking forward to visiting and reading more.

    • angiemc6
      July 28, 2012

      Thanks so much for your encouragement as always, stef. You are officially my longest online friend and I’ll always be grateful for you! (Sorry for the delay in replying. You were trapped in my spam folder. I’ll get the swing of this!)

  6. CasaHamsa
    September 18, 2012

    I just love this post because it’s full of blessings; and I was working on something yesterday, I kept making a mistake in typing the word “Lemon”, I kept writing “Leon”! So, I guess if life gives you “Lemons”, call it “Leon”! “M” is for Mom! 😀

    • angiemc6
      September 18, 2012

      LOL! I may never look at my cat Leon quite the same, “Lemon Leon!” Thanks for stopping by, Charmdeyes, & have a great day:)

  7. LifeAndBows (@LifeAndBows)
    September 23, 2012

    Hi Angie,
    Beautifully said! You have a wonderful blog and I really enjoyed reading about your family!
    XO,
    Zhanna
    http://www.lifeandbows.com

    • angiemc6
      October 4, 2012

      Zhanna, I am sorry to be late replying. Fortunately, your reply reminded me to check out your blog today. http://lifeandbows.com/october-breast-cancer-awareness-month/ is a perfect post for October. So happy you have shared your experience & good information. And thank you for your kind feedback here 🙂

  8. burnettfreelanceimagery
    January 20, 2013

    Beautifully said. Thank you for your continued support in liking my recent post ‘I raised my Flag today…’ 🙂

    • angiemc6
      January 21, 2013

      Likewise, Stan! Very glad to connect. Have a great week 🙂

  9. Pingback: Happiness rejecters « My Gray Stripes

  10. tinatowey
    August 14, 2013

    What a lovely encouraging blog! My son incinerated a piece of fudge cake in the microwave 3 days ago and the whole house smells of carbonised sugar! Plus the whole place needs a clean etc. etc. Great to get reminded that what is important is real love for each other. So I shall happily leave that pile of ironing for yet another day…Thanks!

    • Angie Mc
      August 14, 2013

      Thanks so much for commenting, Tina! Yes, I also have combined the word “son” and “incinerated” into more sentences than I would prefer, lol! If you ever need a sister to support your delay of ironing, I’m here for you 🙂 Enjoy ❤

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2012 by in Happiness & Suffering and tagged , , , , , .

Navigation

