My Gray Stripes

Becoming whole through family life. Desserts help.

Remember birthdays

birthday cards

I’m not an elephant; I forget.  Take birthdays of loved ones, for example.

It’s not that I don’t want to remember birthdays, I do.  Birthday reminders are on my calendar and I’m not too busy.  It’s just that …

Fill in the excuses.  Some reasonable.  Some not.

After years of trial and error and feeling a fool (I mean, really, how hard can sending birthday cards be?)  I found a system that works for me.

1.  The first week of January when all the holiday partying is complete and there is hope in the New Year, make a list of birthdays to be remembered during the year.  Gather any missing information.

2.  Place names on individual post-its.

3.  Shop for an expanding pocket file.  I picked mine up at the Dollar Store:
IMG_2993

4. Shop for birthday cards.  Super nice cards can be purchased for reasonable prices at a variety of stores:  Dollar Store, Costco, Michaels, and Amazon.

5. Once a card has been chosen for each person, place the post-it with their name on it.

6. Address envelopes. Write the birthday date small in upper right hand corner of envelope.  Place stamp over date right before mailing.

7. Purchase stamps. Better yet, have someone else purchase the stamps.

8. Stack cards and their envelopes in order of date, dividing by month/s according to the expanding pocket file.  Mine has 5 pockets.  In the front pocket I keep the master birthday list and stamps.  The next four pockets hold three months each.

9. During the first week of the month, bring out the birthday cards for that month.

10. Personalize each card and mail.

Ta da!  Grateful for small victories.

What small victories have you experienced?  Please feel free to brag in the comments section.

Gray Stripe Earned:  There is good reason to hope for solutions to all of life’s little tenacious failures.   

9 comments on “Remember birthdays

  1. dmdobbins98
    February 21, 2013

    I try to remember birthdays. too. Alas, I’m not good at sending cards, But I send greetings to facebook friends as I have a habit of checking that in the morning. If you’re a close enough person that I have your number I call and say happy birthday, so I get to enjoy hearing their voice and hear how they are doing.

    • Angie Mc
      February 21, 2013

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing, Michelle :) Social media is a great way to send birthday love! Phone calls are fun, too; how I especially love to hear the sweet voices of the youngest members of our extended family. My siblings and their children are known for calling and singing to the birthday boy or girl. Leaving a message is the best. They sound like this, parent whispers, “1, 2, 3..” then children of various young ages sing the Happy Birthday song with MUCH enthusiasm! Precious.

      I’m going to hop over to your blog when I have a few minutes: http://dailyalchemy.com/ . Have a great week.

  2. Willa
    February 21, 2013

    Wonderful, Angie. I am so going to use this idea!

    • Angie Mc
      February 21, 2013

      Oh Willa, thanks for finding this useful! Let me know if you make any great card finds or you tweak the process. Also, I’m interested in how others creatively personalize cards by adding notes, prayer cards, using colored pens, confetti, the like :)

      I look forward to checking out the latest at your blog: http://take-up-and-read.blogspot.com/ Happy week to you and yours.

  3. jubileejourney
    February 25, 2013

    Your blog has inspired me so I’m nominating you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. You can check it out here: http://jubileejourney.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    • Angie Mc
      February 25, 2013

      Thank you again, Ana! You are an inspiration.

  4. andrewmstevenson
    March 1, 2013

    That’s a good system, Angie. Sue, my wife follows a similar one with her yearly diary. My small victory: deciding to forego meat and fish for the rest of my life !

    • Angie Mc
      March 1, 2013

      Hi Andrew! Thanks for stopping by. Bravo to you on your small victory (although it doesn’t sound small to me :) .) Give Sue a Hi from me and have a great weekend.

  5. Pingback: 136 ways to love others | My Gray Stripes

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by in Hope & Despair and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

